• We guarantee to beat webuyanycar.com by at least £100 on your current Ford car or van when you sell or Part Exchange


Low Emission Zones are schemes that cover specific areas (typically in cities) to tackle pollution and that discourage certain types of vehicles from entering a specified zone.

Typically, this will consist of a charge for the vehicle should it not reach a minimum standard for emissions to enter this zone.

The idea is to encourage the use of cleaner vehicles and thus improve air quality.

Ultra Low Emission Zone

     Low Emission Zone    

       Clean Air Zone      

Check to see if your vehicle complies with the current LEZ standard by clicking here…  https://tfl.gov.uk/modes/driving/check-your-vehicle/

At TrustFord we are proud to have a huge range of environmentally friendly cars and vans that meet the Euro 6 standard. Browse our new Cars and Vans now and find something suitable for you and our environment today, 

Low Emission Zones Explained

Ultra Low Emission Zone

The aim of the world’s first Low Emission Zone (ULEZ) in London was to reduce pollution and improve air quality in London by introducing a charge for vehicles that don’t meet new exhaust emission standards.

It was announced in 2014 by the former Mayor of London Boris Johnson. And came into force 8th April 2019.

The reason for introducing the Ultra Low Emission Zone was that pollution levels in London regularly exceeded safe levels. And road transport is the biggest source of harmful emissions, with vehicles are currently responsible for producing around half of both nitrogen oxides (NOx pollution) and particulate matter in the air.

Initially, the ULEZ area was the same as the current Congestion Charge zone across central London, however, in October 2021, the boundaries of ULEZ will extend.  

Euro Standards Explained

Birmingham 2020 Clean Air Zone Map

Euro standards first appeared in 1992, they are range of emissions controls that set limits for air polluting nitrogen oxides (NOx) and particulate matter (PM) from engines. New vehicles must show that they meet these limits to be approved for sale. However if you own an older vehicle, there is a possibility they will not meet these standards.

The ULEZ standards for existing central London ULEZ and when the zone expands are:

  • Euro 3 for motorcycles, mopeds, motorised tricycles and quadricycles (L category)
  • Euro 4 (NOx) for petrol cars, vans, minibuses and other specialist vehicles
  • Euro 6 (NOx and PM) for diesel cars, vans and minibuses and other specialist vehicles
  • Euro VI (NOx and PM) for lorries, buses and coaches and other specialist heavy vehicles

Euro 3 became mandatory for all new motorcycles in 2007

Euro 4 became mandatory for all new cars in 2005 and light vans in 2006

Euro 6 became mandatory for all new heavy duty engines for goods vehicles and buses from January 2014, September 2015 for cars and light vans, and September 2016 for larger vans up to and including 3.5 tonnes gross vehicle weight.

Find out more about ULEZ emission standards, daily charges and penalty charges, plus information on how to avoid having to pay the charge for: Cars or Vans.

Clean Air Zones 

Birmingham 2020 Clean Air Zone Map

The UK government have also asked five cities to introduce Clean Air Zones in the next couple of years:

Bath |   Birmingham |  Derby |  Nottingham  | Southampton 

Bath and Birmingham are set to launch Clean Air Zones in 2021. Buses, coaches, heavy goods vehicles, taxis and private hire vehicles will be charged for driving within the zone’s boundary if they don’t meet minimum emissions standards.


More information on Low Emission Zones in your area

There are currently low emission zones in the following UK cities:


London's Ultra Low Emission Zone

London Map

Birmingham's Clean Air Zone

Birmingham 2020 Clean Air Zone Map


 Bath's Clean Air Zone

Bath Map

Glasgow's Low Emission Zone 

Glasgow Map

With TrustFord Now you can see your vehicle, buy it and drive it home, on the same day and within the same hour!

We'll even bring your vehicle to your nearest TrustFord dealership.